The Top Four Dynasty Warriors Games of 2022

Alex Rowe
9 min readDec 22, 2022
Screenshot of three characters in tableau from Warriors Orochi 3 on PC
Warriors Orochi 3 Ultimate Definitive Edition screenshot taken by the author.

Back in 2018, I published one of my favorite pieces that no one read: a ranking of the year’s seven Dynasty Warriors games. Koei Tecmo and Omega Force’s long-running series also has dozens of licensed spin-offs, expansions, and sequels, and as such they tend to come out at a pretty even clip of multiple titles per year.

During the last few years of pandemic-induced game production upheaval, the release schedule slowed down a little bit, but this year they got back up to speed and put out just enough games for me to rank them.

Here then is my ranked list of the year’s Warriors games. I wasn’t asked to write this list by Koei Tecmo and I don’t make money from my writing without your direct support. Find out more about how to support me at the end of this piece.

On with the list! To break tradition, and because I’m writing this sequentially and feel like talking about my favorite game first — I’m going to start with number 1 and work my way down to the worst.

Dynasty Warriors 9 Empires PC screenshot, a character does a special move in the middle of a group of enemy soldiers.
Screenshot taken by the author.

1. Dynasty Warriors 9 Empires (Playstation, Xbox, Switch, PC)

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.