Zombieland: Double Tap- Road Trip Game Review

Oh no why did I play this whole thing?

Alex Rowe
10 min readJan 24, 2020
Now you too can fulfill your dreams of shooting zombie-filled toilets for two hours as Fake Emma Stone! Screenshot taken by Alex Rowe.

I’m that guy you know who used to like movie-based video games. Good, bad, questionable cash-in on a license…I bought them all. And finished them all.

But then the industry got over it. The studios that used to make a living on licensed movie titles shifted over to their own original games, or got jobs doing conversion work to less powerful consoles like the Switch, or sometimes faded out of existence entirely.

In the last year or so, something baffling and market-defying happened: movie games started coming back. Not just as fun small mobile diversions either. Real “true” movie games of all budgets and scopes are once again somehow coming out on discs for major platforms.

I wrote a round-up article about this last November, and the title I was most doubtful about was Zombieland: Double Tap- Road Trip, one of the few games I can think of that has both a colon and a hyphen in its title. As of the moment this article goes live, the game is on sale on a variety of platforms for the Lunar New Year, and it’s also one of the current free games in Microsoft’s ongoing Xbox Live Free Play Days promotion.

I downloaded the Xbox version and played the whole thing in a couple of hours. Now, I won’t ever get those…

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.