Torchlight III Launch Review

What a difference 4 months makes!

Alex Rowe
7 min readOct 15, 2020
Xbox One X screenshot taken by the author.

Torchlight III first launched in early access on Steam back in June, and I thought it was a bit of a disaster. It had numerous issues left over from its original MMO design, no singleplayer mode to speak of, and a general sense of lag to its gameplay that made it less enjoyable to experience compared to its two lauded predecessors.

I didn’t think that developer Echtra Games would be able to turn the title around without some serious and lengthy re-development. But, to my surprise, they’ve done that and more! In only four short months they’ve radically overhauled the game and released new versions this week on the PS4 and Xbox One. It’s available now for a price of $40, and it’s coming to the Switch next Thursday, Oct. 22nd.

PS4 Pro screenshot taken by the author.

The list of changes made is gargantuan, so I’ll just hit some of my personal highlights. The game now has a true singleplayer mode that doesn’t require a constant server connection, alongside co-op multiplayer. The feel of the game is much snappier regardless of mode, and in a brilliant move, difficulty choice now affects movement speed of the enemies. The skill tree system has been redesigned…

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.