The Coolest Thing About Diablo II: Resurrected

Blizzard paid attention to something many remasters skip

Alex Rowe
5 min readMay 16, 2022
Screenshot taken by the author.

My favorite thing about last year’s Diablo II remake isn’t the new graphics, or the enhanced gameplay systems, or the new mini map, or the cross platform progression support, or that it’s a full revitalization of one of the best games ever made.

Rather, it’s the sound design.

I thought Diablo II: Resurrected would be a bigger deal, but it seems to me like it fell out of the mainstream gaming consciousness just half a year after its launch. That’s a shame, because I think it has some of the best upgraded sound of any re-release or remaster on the market.

It didn’t help the game’s chances that it came out right after the Activision Blizzard internal harassment saga went public, which saw many big press outlets stop covering anything else related to the company. Both the ongoing allegations and successful lawsuits regarding terrible behavior at the company are awful to read about, and I fully stand with the employees who were abused. I hope that things will get better — and I also hope that doesn’t mean that all the care these hard-working developers lavished on remaking Diablo II goes unnoticed.

--

--

Alex Rowe

Commentary about Games, Audio, and Music | In my past professional lives I edited audio and wrote for a computer magazine.