The Asus ROG Ally is A Weird Little PC Guy

An enthusiast gaming experience disguised as a handheld console

Alex Rowe
9 min readJul 24, 2023

--

The Asus ROG Ally on its goofy little stand running Diablo II Resurrected.
Photo taken by Alex Rowe.

I walked into the Best Buy six weeks ago on the ROG Ally’s launch day fully expecting it to be sold out. It had a huge and intense marketing campaign, with flashy ads all over the internet, a lengthy pre-order period, and dozens of tech influencer preview and review videos. My local store even went the extra mile with their display, dedicating an entire endcap to the unit with a pre-release edition available for users to poke at and try games on.

While I’m sure that all of this effort had some sort of sales impact — my local store had several units available on release day, so I impulse bought one. I’ve spent the last several weeks using it as my main gaming machine. I played through an entire forty-hour campaign run of Diablo IV. I checked out GPU-intensive games like Horizon: Zero Dawn and Street Fighter 6. I played a ton of Diablo II on it after Diablo IV got thrown into the river by its own development team. I checked out the latest version of Obsidian’s Grounded with a friend. And I played far too much Vampire Survivors.

You can see its official site here.

In all that gaming time, the system ran very well. You probably don’t need me to tell you that if you’ve watched even one of the…

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. Creators and fans are so much more than numbers on a graph.