SteelSeries Apex Pro Mini Gaming Keyboard Review

2022’s Best New Gaming Keyboard

Alex Rowe
6 min readNov 18, 2022
SteelSeries Apex Pro Mini Keyboard on a desk next to a SteelSeries Aerox 3 Mouse.
Photo taken by the author.

I went into this review with extreme skepticism. The original Apex Pro was an excellent keyboard overall, but it lacked some modern features that I’ve come to expect like a removable cable and PBT key caps. SteelSeries stuck with their older design for longer than I would have thought, while other gaming models moved in on their territory in both build and performance.

The saving grace of the Apex line is the smooth-as-butter Omnipoint switch at the heart of the keyboard — and now they’ve built a whole new version of it to go with a new series of products. That got me excited when the relaunched lineup was announced, but then my hype levels plummeted when I saw the pricing.

You see, the Apex Pro Mini sells for $179.99 in a wired version (official site here) or $239.99 for the wireless model. That’s at the very top of the market price wise as far as sixty percent gaming models go. The TKL version also got a refresh along with its own small price increase. The new designs are nothing flashy at first glance, mirroring the slim case designs of many other current popular models. They’re free of the intense angles and jaunty frames of SteelSeries past keyboards.

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.