Razer THX Spatial Audio Software Review

The newest iteration of Razer’s surround software gets a standalone Windows 10 App

Alex Rowe
5 min readJul 2, 2020
Screenshot captured by the author.

When Razer first bought THX way back in 2016, I hoped that a number of exciting new collaborative audio products would come out and propel Razer’s gaming audio offerings out of the bass-heavy rut they were stuck in at the time.

The first major gaming-focused project to come out of the new business pairing was THX Spatial Audio, a 3D audio rendering system designed mainly for playing back game and movie audio over headphones. Similar to competing technologies like Dolby Atmos, Windows Sonic, and DTS:X, THX Spatial Audio offers support for true object-based 3D audio soundtracks, as well as full playback support for traditionally mixed 5.1 and 7.1 surround sound. Razer’s solution is also unique in that you can force it to upmix stereo sound mixes to full surround.

Up until now, the only way to get access to THX Spatial Audio was to buy a Razer gaming headset. I first checked it out alongside the Razer Nari Wireless, and while I largely enjoyed the experience, I didn’t like that I had to manually toggle on the software for each app the first time I used it inside Razer’s settings application.

--

--

Alex Rowe

Commentary about Games, Audio, and Music. In my past professional lives I edited audio and wrote reviews for a computer magazine.