Razer Actually Listened To Keyboard Enthusiasts

The best gaming keyboard of 2023?

Alex Rowe
6 min readDec 9, 2023

--

The Razer Blackwidow V4 75% Keyboard sitting on a desk.
Photo taken by the author.

I’m not the most active member of the hardcore mechanical keyboard community, but I do like to follow it and sometimes dabble. I’ve reviewed a number of gaming models here on Medium. I enjoy keeping an eye on current trends in modding and design, even if I don’t actually personally derive much fun out of ripping keyboards apart and putting lube inside of them.

The space has a lot of its own language, trends, and influencers, and I follow a few of these folks on social media and YouTube. They consistently don’t love “gaming focused” keyboards made by the big gaming tech companies, and they’re not too shy to tell you exactly why. These mainstream models often lack lubrication, or have bad stabilizers, or don’t use foam in the case — leading to pingy sounding keyboards that don’t perform that well for anything, all for the sake of a flashy look with more RGB lights.

Recently though, something weird happened: all of the influencers I follow thought that a Razer-produced keyboard was totally fine. Not just one of them, but several of them went over it and couldn’t really find any meaningful things to complain about. I was stunned by this, so I bought one at my local beleaguered Best Buy to check out for myself.

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. Creators and fans are so much more than numbers on a graph.