My Time At Sandrock is Buggy and Unfinished

A mess on consoles, a little better on high end PCs

Alex Rowe
5 min readNov 16, 2023
My custom character stands dejectedly in a dirt field in My Time at Sandrock.
ROG Ally screenshot taken by the author. It looks okay on the handheld, but performance is not at all good.

A few weeks ago, I wrote a cozy game round-up where I looked at some of the most popular current games in the space. The one I was most intrigued by was My Time at Sandrock, the followup to 2019’s My Time at Portia. It blends traditional cozy game tasks like crafting and harvesting with some light combat and RPG elements. The new desert setting of the sequel mixes up the core gameplay with a totally different set of resources to manage, setting it apart from most other games in the ever-growing genre.

Sandrock launched in early access on PC a year and a half ago, and although the early build I was playing for that round-up had some issues, I was still planning to bust through it then check out the official “launch” 1.0 version on November 2nd for improvements so I could write a review.

Unfortunately, that launch build came out in what I’d call a broken and sadly early state — and that’s just on PC. The development team at Pathea has been in a mad dash for the last two weeks trying to hotfix fundamental bugs in the PC version. They’ve been talking to their fans over on the Steam forums, going so far as to ask them directly whether they should be prioritizing further hotfixes on PC or general content updates that can also go through the…

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.