MPOW 2.4Ghz Wireless Gaming Headset Review

A cheap clone of HyperX’s lineup that can’t quite live up to its ambitions

Alex Rowe
12 min readJan 28, 2020
The white bits on the plastic aren’t dust, but scuffs in the finish. It showed up this way. Photo taken by Alex Rowe.

The entire design meeting for MPOW’s new blandly-named 2.4Ghz Wireless Gaming Headset probably went something like this:

“Let’s steal the Cloud Alpha design, and make it wireless!”

“Okay!”

In 2017, that would have been a tremendously exciting concept to me, and in 2020, it’s still not too bad. I’ve wanted HyperX to make a wireless version of their iconic Cloud II for years. When they first teased the Cloud Alpha, I thought the cutouts in the frame meant they were lowering the weight for a wireless version. Instead, they made a slightly better Cloud II, and then kept the old model on the market.

Sadly I was totally wrong in this tweet. Screencap and Tweet by Alex Rowe.

When HyperX finally did enter the wireless space with the Cloud Flight, Cloud Mix, and Cloud Stinger Wireless, all of them used fresh industrial designs instead of the classic frame . The diminutive Cloud Mix comes the closest to the spirit of my dream headset, though its wireless functionality is Bluetooth-based, requiring a wire for peak gaming performance.

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.