I Make The Same Mistake in Every RPG

Use that thing! Yes, the one you’re saving!

Alex Rowe
4 min readMay 21, 2024
The slightly hidden potions tab in the Diablo IV inventory menu.
The potions tab in my Diablo IV character screen. PS5 screenshot taken by the author.

Diablo IV, like most other video game RPGs, contains a huge collection of different play mechanics and systems. Players have to balance loot, skills, upgrades, cooldown timers, dodging, attacking, and more as they traverse its large open world full of challenges.

A recent and shockingly good patch added even more mechanics to the already dense game, with new menus to use and recipes to collect. It’s no wonder then that sometimes my brain gets lost in all this content, even though this is probably my favorite genre of game to play.

I’m great at managing most of this elaborate stuff, and getting into a flow state even in a super packed game with lots of buttons to remember. But I’m terrible at remembering to use my potions.

I don’t mean the simple healing sort of potion — I mean literally any other potion that the game hands me. In Diablo IV, there’s a whole variety of different temporary stat-boosting potions and elixirs to be found and/or crafted. These offer big benefits to players, like experience point boosts or extra attack speed, often for large chunks of time like 15 or 30 minutes.

Unfortunately, these helpful items are tucked away in a tab that’s secondary to the main inventory page, and only…

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.