Dragon Quest Heroes II is Very Good. I’m going to try and finish it this week.

Alex Rowe
2 min readMay 17, 2017

--

This is more of a “public proclamation to guilt me into doing something” than a proper article. I’ll have one of those (a headphone review!) coming at the end of the day.

I finally bought Dragon Quest Heroes II, Omega Force’s latest game, and it’s basically everything I like about video games. There’s just one problem: Omega Force’s next game, Samurai Warriors: Spirit of Sanada is out next week…

And I want to play it at launch.

Time to try and play a big game in about week, something I haven’t successfully done in years.

I’m not sure why I have such a hard time getting through big games these days. Conventional wisdom is that I don’t have enough time, but I think it’s more or less a problem of focus. I used to be very proficient at just plowing through big games…or even pouring hours and hours into something like Diablo III. (Speaking of which, I know I’m also going to put a ton of hours into Marvel Heroes Omega. More on that soon!)

Now I don’t really do that so much. I’ll get distracted by my phone. I listen to more music. I do more writing. I like to watch a bunch of Youtube videos in quick succession thanks to Youtube Red.

It’s certainly not a problem of game quality, as games are better than they were at the beginning of this console cycle.

Dragon Quest Heroes II is fantastic. It has big worlds to explore. It has a well-written and well-localized story about characters from across the Dragon Quest Universe, coming together to fight in a new land. It has the excellent combat and huge battles I love from other Omega Force Warriors games.

I had a huge smile on my face during the first hour I played last night, as I realized the game was totally clicking with me. So I’m going to try and finish it before the new Samurai Warriors is out.

Please click the heart if you liked this for some reason, and please comment and tell me your strategies for beating big games!

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.