Corsair HS35 Budget Gaming Headset Review

Corsair made a cheaper version of their cheapest headset

Alex Rowe
10 min readJan 23, 2020
Photo taken by Alex Rowe.

I liked the Corsair HS50 when it first launched a couple of years ago, and I said they would probably sell a lot of them. Today, that older model is still a great take on the HyperX Cloud II formula for $50, which is half the normal price for that class of headset.

In my head I like to imagine there was a meeting at Corsair where they proposed pulling the same trick again and sticking it to their competition even further. To that end, they launched the Corsair HS35 in the back half of last year. It’s a low-end take on headset design principles that used to cost ~$99, and while it doesn’t match the quality of that price tier, it’s still better than what I’ve come to expect from a $40 gaming product.

If I worked at Turtle Beach or HyperX right now, I’d be furiously designing a response.

Photo taken by Alex Rowe.

OVERVIEW

The Corsair HS35 (official product page here) retails for $40 and often goes on sale. I got mine for $30 at Best Buy, and I’ve seen them fall to that price a few times at other outlets as well.

--

--

Alex Rowe

Commentary about Games, Audio, and Music. In my past professional lives I edited audio and wrote reviews for a computer magazine.