Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora is The Best-Looking Video Game

The next generation is finally here

Alex Rowe
7 min readDec 11, 2023
The customizable main character in Frontiers of Pandora looks out over the jungle.
PS5 screenshot taken by the author.

Ubisoft has triumphantly raised the bar for astounding video game graphics, and they’ve done so within the confines of a movie-licensed franchise title. That’s not a sentence I ever expected to type — particularly the latter half.

If you’re at all interested in seeing the current cutting edge of video game visuals, you have to go out right now and get a copy of Avatar: Frontiers of Pandora. It’s on PS5, PC, and Xbox, and the PC/Xbox versions are available on the Ubisoft+ subscription service as well. They haven’t paid me to say any of this, nor did they influence this article. I bought my own PS5 copy and tried the other versions through the subscription. I love it so much and I want everyone to see how good it looks.

Thanks to a new iteration of Ubisoft’s in-house Snowdrop engine that properly scales to different levels of hardware, I don’t even need to qualify my “run out and buy it” statement with a recommended platform. This game looks amazing on all the current consoles, with extra goodies for PC owners. It doesn’t suffer from the same PC/console divide that plagues other high end ray tracing-powered games like Cyberpunk or Alan Wake 2. You’re getting the same core visual experience here regardless of your chosen machine, tweaked…

--

--

Alex Rowe

I write about gaming, tech, music, and their industries. I have a background in video production, and I used to review games for a computer magazine.